Learning Photography

sarahpoche-01-lightoutside

sarahpoche-02-insidelight

sarahpoche-03-foreinfocus

sarahpoche-04-backinfocus

sarahpoche-05-thirds

sarahpoche-06-leadroom

What I Learned. I really enjoyed this activity. I took a photography class about 10 years ago. I forgot most of what I learned, but this assignment reminded me of how to do some things. I’m glad that I was able to dust off my camera and give it some love. I really enjoy taking pictures I just don’t have a whole lot of time to play around with that particular hobby right now. The pictures are pretty straight forward. I tried to use the rule of thirds in all of my compositions and I just focused my subject in the proper focus point in the viewfinder.  This is how I did the foreground in focus and the background in focus also. I used the focus points in the viewfinder telling my camera where I wanted the focus to do and my camera focused on that point and did the rest. I wish that I would have had more time to do this assignment because I really wanted to try light painting. I will have to do that later!

Although I knew how to do most of these things already, I really enjoyed using Photoshop. I have very little experience with Photoshop. I have only used it a handful of times and I need to experiment around with it more. I know there are so many things that you can do in Photoshop, but I was impressed with the differences that you can make in the lighting of the pictures on just the few tools that we used. The levels, vibrance, selective color were all useful tools to sharpen the coloring in my pictures.

